Bylaws of the Kennebunkport Republican Committee

Section 1. Name

The name of this committee is the Kennebunkport Republican Committee, hereafter referred to as the Committee.

Section 2. Purpose and Duties

The Committee is organized for the purpose of supporting and strengthening the Republican Party. It will accept contributions and make expenditures in order to influence the selection, nomination, election and appointment of Republicans to federal, state and local public office. In carrying out these purposes, the Committee shall encourage all residents of the municipality to register and enroll in the Republican Party and to vote in all elections, encourage qualified Republicans to seek office, support Republicans who seek elected office, and cooperate with the County and State Republican Committees.

Section 3. Membership

All enrolled Republicans in the municipality are members of the Committee.

Section 4. Officers

The officers of the Committee are Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Finance Chair.

Section 5. Election of Officers of the Committee

The officers of the Committee shall be nominated and elected at the caucus. When there is a vacancy in an office of the Committee, the Chair shall call a meeting to elect a person to fill the vacancy for the unexpired term. In the interim, the Chair may appoint a person to fill the vacancy pending the election of a replacement. If the vacancy is in the Chair, the Vice Chair shall temporarily assume the duties of the Chair and call for an election to fill the unexpired term.

Section 6. Powers and Duties of the Officers

  1. The Chair of the Committee shall preside at all meetings of the Committee and the Executive Committee. The Chair shall appoint all subcommittees, subject to the approval of the Executive Committee and the Chair or their appointee is an ex-officio member of all subcommittees. In the Treasurer’s absence, the Chair may disperse funds as approved by the Committee or Executive Committee.
  2. The Vice Chair shall act in the absence of the Chair, and also at the Chair’s request.
  3. The Secretary shall conduct the official correspondence, preserve all records, and maintain an accurate record of proceedings of the Committee and the Executive Committee. The Secretary shall act in the absence of the Chair and the Vice Chair and at the request of either. The Secretary shall give reasonable notice of committee meetings to all committee members.
  4. The Treasurer shall receive and disburse the monies of the Committee. The Treasurer shall not disburse any money without prior approval of the Executive Committee. The Treasurer shall keep an accurate record of all money received and disbursed. All disbursements shall be made by check signed by the Treasurer or Chair. The Treasurer shall report the financial condition of the Committee to the Committee, the Executive Committee, or the Chair at any time on request. The Treasurer shall act as auditor of the accounts of the Finance Chair and shall make reports as required by state law.
  5. The Finance Chair shall supervise all fundraising activities of the Committee. The Finance Chair shall pay all money received to the Treasurer of the Committee. The Finance Chair shall also act as auditor of the accounts of the Treasurer.

Section 7. Executive Committee

There shall be an Executive Committee consisting of the officers of the Committee. The Executive Committee shall at in furtherance of the purpose set forth in Section 2.

Section 8. Meetings

Meetings of the Committee shall be called by the Chair or, in the absence of the Chair, by any Officer. The meeting schedule shall be approved by the Executive Committee.

Section 9. Quorums

Attendance of three of the officers is required for a quorum.

Section 10. Parliamentary Authority and General Operating Principle

The general operating principle of the Committee is that it will act to further values and goals that unite Republicans and shall avoid action that tends to divide them. Except to the extent that they conflict with these Bylaws, Roberts Rules of Order govern the proceedings of the Committee.

Section 11. Candidates Not Endorsed Before Primary

The Committee shall not endorse a candidate for any elective office prior to the time that the Republican Party has by primary election, convention, caucus, or other method, designated its choice to carry the Republican banner in the general election. This does not prohibit any member of the Committee from publicly supporting their personal choice of a candidate for any elective office, but they shall not state or infer that their choice has the approval of the Committee.

Section 12. Loss of Membership

Loss of membership occurs when a member moves his residence outside the geographical limits of the municipality. When a member publicly endorses any candidate running against a Republican, or speaks publicly against an elected Republican or a duly nominated Republican for office, the Committee may, by majority vote, remove that member from the Committee or take such other action as it seems appropriate.

Section 13. Adoption and Amendment of By-Laws

These Bylaws shall be adopted by 2/3rds majority vote of Republicans attending the biennial caucus. These Bylaws may be amended at any Committee meeting by a 2/3rds vote of the members present at the meeting. The proposed amendment must be submitted to the Executive Committee at least one week before the meeting, and it must be set forth in the notice of the call of the meeting. At the meeting, the Executive Committee shall indicate its approval or disapproval of the proposed amendment and the reason for it before the vote is taken.

Adopted this 19th day of March 2014.

Signed:  H. Stedman Seavey, Caucus Chair